Texting While Driving in Colorado Just Became More Costly
This week, Governor Hickenlooper signed a bill into law which increased the penalties for texting while driving from a fine of $50 to $300 and from 1 point to 4 points on a drivers’ license.
The law ramping up distracted driving penalties in our state followed the tragic death of 2 motorcyclists who were killed after being struck by a car whose driver was texting near Franktown, Colorado. At that time, our state’s texting while driving law imposed one of the lowest penalties for this offense in the nation. The initial drafts of the bill imposed even harsher fines for texting while driving, but proponents could not garner enough support to pass the measure without revisions which reduced the fine from $500 to $300. Lawmakers hope that these increased penalties will improve the deterrent effect of the law, thereby reducing the number of avoidable texting-while-driving car crashes.
The various forms of the bill from inception to final draft may be found here: https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/sb17-027.
If you or a family member was hurt because another driver was texting while driving, contact the Colorado Springs Injury Attorneys at Rosenbaum & Wootton, P.C. for help with regaining control of your life and to help send the message that texting and driving will not be tolerated in our community. Contact the Colorado Springs Injury Attorneys at Rosenbaum & Wootton, P.C. by calling 719.634.0102 or by clicking on this link to schedule your FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION.